It’s been more than 8 months… (an update)

My last entry was on 25 Oct 2017.  That was a year ago.  I’m not sure if anyone is reading but I thought it would be good for me to write an update about my condition anyway.

In my last blog, I ended with…”It has been 8 weeks… and I look forward to the day when I can say, “It’s been 8 months”, and “It’s been 8 years.  Well, it hasn’t been 8 years yet but I am happy to say that I’ve not had anxiety for more than 8 months.  In fact, in 4 days time, I can say that I’ve been free from anxiety for 14 months.

I have no explanation over my recovery and I do not know what contributed to that.  Was it my medication?  Did those sessions with my shrink help?  Was it because I had an understanding, patient and supportive wife and colleagues?  Or was it due to God’s mercy and His healing power?  I cannot put my finger on it – but I reckon God must have used every one of these factors to give me that healing that I had longed for, for a long time!

I was diagnosed with depression on January 20, 2015 – and it’s been almost 4 years since  And although I feel GREAT, and I do not presume that this is over for me.  I am still on medication and I’m still meeting my shrink – although not as often as before – I am fully aware of what can potentially bring about a relapse.  As a result, I have learned to stay away – or not place myself in those situations for too long.  I give myself more space and time to do the work that is required of me – and I lean not to hang on those emotions and feelings that I know aren’t helpful.  And I am proud to say that during those few stressful months at work, I have handled it well.  I’ve also received affirmation from my colleagues and people around me.  But my journey continues.

I also proud of the fact that I have spoken quite publicly about my struggle with depression and anxiety disorder. I’ve asked God why He has allowed me to go through this.  And although He has not given me an answer yet, I always believe God has a purpose and plan for that.  For now, I just want to be available and journey who whoever is going through a similar struggle.  As a matter of fact, I will be meeting a young man this Sunday who suspects that he may be going through depression.

I also want my story to be a testimony that people who have depression and anxiety disorder CAN get better!!  I want to believe that this also applies to other forms of mental health issues.  And while the journey can be long, lonely and painful, there IS light at the end of the tunnel.  It just takes time and patience… and I don’t say this lightly because I know how long our journey can feel.  And perhaps some of our journeys have indeed been very long.  In fact, I know of someone who has had depression for more than 10 years now and his condition is still fluctuating.

I think that’s all I will write.  Bye for now…!!

It’s been more than 8 months… (an update)

Leave a comment